Български (България)English (United Kingdom)
Problem 737: Vitaly Medintsev - Fairy
vitaly.medintsev(30.05.2016) Helpselfmate by Vitaly Medintsev where he is added one more solution to Petko Petkov's Tzuika prizewinner. What our visitors think?

1.Kb1 Rb8 2.Qb7 Sb6 3.Qb7-d7+ Sb6xd7#
1.Ka1 Bh8 2.Qg7 Sdf6 3.Qg7-d7+ Sf6xd7#
1.f3 Rh2 2.Qg2 Sf2 3.Qg4+ Sxg4#

I'm a beginner in helpselfmates but I suppose it is a clear improvement of Petko's work, seehttp://www.yacpdb.org/#402406 (Author)

petkohs

Comments  

+3 #1 Seetharaman Kalyan 2016-05-30 04:31
Definitely it is an improvement.... since the second black rook was already there, an obvious improvement. Dont know why Petkov did not want to add this. It would be interesting to know his view.

+3 #2 Aleksey Oganesjan 2016-05-30 04:35
Oh, maybe my following version will be a clear improvement of clear improvement of Petko's work?! :-)

Here we see:
- only one thematic bS;
- sacrifices of wQ on three different squares.

+1 #3 Vitaly Medintsev 2016-05-30 05:05
Bravo, Aleksey!
Your version is a clearest improvement! :-)
I suggest to publish it as a joint work instead of mine.
737.1 would also fits - let the editor deside.

+2 #4 Aleksey Oganesjan 2016-05-30 05:23
>> I suggest to publish it as a joint work instead of mine.

Yes, I agree.

0 #5 Nikola Predrag 2016-05-30 07:51
bS is superfluous in the mates, that's a great flaw in hs#-genre, just as an idle white piece in h#-genre.

+2 #6 Aleksey Oganesjan 2016-05-30 08:02
In the initial Petko's problem bS is also superfluous in the mates. In my opinion, in this case it's not a flaw because it's an immament characteristic of the scheme. This bS actively plays the same (unpinning and battery play) in all solutions - I think it is quite enough for his loading...

+3 #7 Seetharaman Kalyan 2016-05-30 08:33
Quoting Nikola Predrag:
bS is superfluous in the mates, that's a great flaw in hs#-genre, just as an idle white piece in h#-genre.